Classics diversion

This year marks the 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Dickens and London is awash with celebrations, exhibitions, publications and tenuously linked products connected to the great writer.

Regular readers know that I am partial to a classic novel (both modern and your more classic classics) and Dickens is one of my favourites, so the Charles-o-rama is okay with me, for the time being anyway. It’s not often a writer has such public focus for an entire year, so although I assume one will get a little tired of hearing of his brilliance and listening to lectures proposing what Dickens would think of Twitter and the crisis in the Eurozone were he alive now, overall I see it as a positive and inspiring thing. (A colleague of mine has been so inspired he is planning on having a year of Dickens to kick through some of the novels he never got around to reading. Fabulous idea, if you ask me.) It’s also had me thinking about classics in general and when my writing muscles are back in shape I have a couple of recently read titles to post on — including a Dickens’ novel. Until then, here is the always firm-thinking and eloquent Richard Flanagan on our relationship with classic literature.

http://www.randomhouse.com.au/blog/richard-flanagan-on-classics-1435.aspx

4 thoughts on “Classics diversion

    • Hi Claire – I do try to read at least one each year… I read ‘Bleak House’ last year and that was wonderful. I may tackle Martin Chuzzlewit. Started that a few years ago but got distracted by life etc. I haven’t read ‘Our Mutual Friend’ but can thoroughly recommend ‘David Copperfield’. Enjoy!

  1. I may not be picking up a Dickens to read this year but this Sunday, here in the States, Masterpiece Theater is showing The Old Curiosity Shop with Derek Jacobi. I’ll definitely be watching.

Leave a Reply

