Remember me?

Hello. Your humble blogger here, all red-faced and shuffling feet. If you’re having trouble recalling when we last met… well, so am I. If you’re having trouble  placing me… I used to write a fairly regular blog about books. And sometimes you flattered me by reading it. Then in 2011 I moved to London, picked up a weird Australian/cockney accent, met the love of my life, got caught up in jobs and the blogging wheels fell off, or something…

I could sit here for some time rattling off a list of excuses for why last year (despite having a lot of spare time, reading many books, and not having that many friends in my current locale to be distracted by) I still managed to put in a very poor show of blogging. But why waste all of our time? Especially when I’ve clearly been doing that enough. It’s a new year, I have a new job, a new abode, and your usual blogging will resume shortly.

By way of a small apology here is a link to a fantastic band I saw perform last weekend at a book-group party (no one parties like a book group). Little Machine put well-known (and not-so-known) poetry to music and they are wonderful. And I’ve never been one to say that I like poetry, but I like these guys, and they reminded me that wonderful words can do wonderful things to a person; whether they are prose, verse or song. The tunes possibly sound better live but the band have some songs online. Philip Larkin’s poetry should be punk rock, and a lament by Keats a haunting ballad—enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Remember me?

  1. Hello, Pile of Books, I’ve missed you! Good luck in your new digs and your new town. I’ve written a lot about being transplanted for work or love, so I can relate. I’ve never heard of a book club that booked a band to perform, book clubs are pretty mellow in Rochester, or I’ve heard. As a transplant, I’ve never been invited.

    I’m reading the Zookeeper’s Wife right now, I highy recommend it. Looking forward to your future book picks.

    • Oh how nice to be missed! These transplantings make you learn a lot about yourself and the world, don’t they? Our book group party was a bunch of book groups celebrating together – hence the slightly bigger scale. There is an overarching organising group, if that makes sense, who get people into a group when they don’t have enough interested friends/colleagues, or indeed won’t be invited to join one. It’s made a big difference to this transplant’s ‘social’ circle, even if it is just a once-a-month book chat over a glass of wine.

      Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Pingback: Books I’ve talked about when I’ve talked about books at book group (part one) « Pile o' Books

Leave a Reply

