January wasteland

Um, did anyone see January come and go? I’m sure I saw it stride in through the door wearing glitter and a party hat and dragging a slightly mangled December behind it, then I turn my back for a few seconds and there’s that bloody February standing a little closer than is polite and breathing its humid breath all over me. Apologies.  Pile o’ Books and the January social madness don’t work well together!

I’m loving my ‘A’ book though (it’s City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare) and we’ll be back to blogging normality soon.

But today I wanted to acknowledge – like every other book-focussed blog out there – the death of JD Salinger. Salinger was one of those authors I avoided like a reheated kebab until a university course made me read him. I can’t quite remember why I had such an aversion. I think when I was young I saw Splendour in the Grass and thought it was Catcher in the Rye for some reason – clearly knowing nothing about the book, nor that a movie had never been made (c’mon I was like, 9 years old) – and forever associated Holden Caulfield with Warren Beatty. And I don’t really care for Wazza, though I liked that movie where he was a politician who went all ‘street’ to get the black vote. I know this makes no sense, but it’s just one of those things my brain does.

ANYWAY, from that forced reading of Salinger at university I discovered one of my favourite short stories ever. For Esme, With Love and Squalor had a profound effect on me. I felt like a different person after reading it for the first time and I cried about two litres of tears. I re-read it often. ‘Squalor’ is such a beautifully sorrowful word. I really love most of JD’s short stories and I’m not a particular fan of short stories in general. So thanks, Mr Salinger, for Esme. With love and due respect. Vale.

3 thoughts on “January wasteland

  1. Pingback: A is for… Ashes « Pile o' Books

  2. Pingback: Franny and Zooey by JD Salinger « Pile o' Books

Leave a Reply

